MS Clinical Advisory Board 2018-05-02T13:21:53+00:00

MS Clinical Advisory Board

Emmanuelle L. Waubant, MD, PhD

Dr. Waubant is a neurologist who specializes in treating MS patients. She is a professor of neurology and serves as director of the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) Regional Pediatric Multiple Sclerosis Center. She earned her medical degree at the Lille University School of Medicine and completed a residency in neurology at Toulouse University Hospital. Dr. Waubant’s research focuses on new treatments for MS. She also studies environmental and genetic risk factors in adults and children with the disease. Dr. Waubant is the Medical Director of Race to Erase MS and serves on the translational research review committee for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. She chairs the clinical trial task force and is a member of the steering committee of the International Pediatric Multiple Sclerosis Study Group. A prominent contributor to scientific journals in her field, she is a co-chief editor of Multiple Sclerosis and Related Disorders, and the MS section editor for Annals of Clinical and Translational Neurology.

Juan Antonio García Merino, MD, PhD

Dr. García Merino is a neurologist focused on MS. He is Professor of Neurology and Director of the Neuroimmunology Lab at Puerta de Hierro Hospital, Universidad Autonoma, Madrid, where he runs a national reference unit for MS. He obtained his medical degree at the Faculty of Medicine, Valladolid, and trained as a neurologist at Puerta de Hierro Hospital. He received his PhD degree in 1985 at the Universidad Autonoma of Madrid. Dr. García Merino has held research posts at Karolinska Institute, Massachusetts General Hospital, and the University of California, San Francisco. His research interests are focused on mediation of damage in experimental models of neuroinflammation, the search for new therapeutic targets, and the role of the endocannabinoid system in MS.